loading, one second please...

Conquer Your Fears

Reviewing: Mary Pope Osborn Stage Fright On A Summer Night  |  Rating:
Sharon Lai By Sharon Lai on
Badge: Author | Level: 4 | Children & Parenting Expertise:
Image for Conquer Your Fears

"Jack pointed to the cover of the book and said, ‘I wish we could go there'. The wind started to blow. The tree house started to spin. It spun faster and faster. Then everything was still. Absolutely still."

The Magic Treehouse series by Mary Pope Osborn has spiraled into an incredible series that not only teaches kids about history, but lets them see what it would be like to be in history. This series is a monolithic hit with young children, and there are over forty books in total.

In this next adventure, Jack and Annie are whisked away to the times when Shakespeare's plays were in great demand at the Globe Theater. Annie tries to stop a bear fight, but then is somehow found by Shakespeare, and Shakespeare requests Jack and Annie as actors because they are wonderful readers. Annie is not scared and is a hit among the audience; Jack is terrified. While performing, Jack and Annie both learn about the incredibly legacy of Shakespeare.