loading, one second please...

Deep Storm By Lincoln Child

Reviewing: Deep Storm Lincoln Child  |  Rating:
John Watson By John Watson on
Badge: Author | Level: 3 | Fiction & Creative Expertise:
Image for Deep Storm by Lincoln Child

Lincoln Child is probably best known for his collaborations with Douglas Preston in such best sellers as "Relic", "Riptide", and "Thunderhead". Together they have achieved great success, thanks, in large part, to the vast wealth of technical info they jam into their fast paced novels, but alone, Mr Child seems to flounder.

"Deep Storm" tells the tale of a secret underwater base that is drilling the ocean floor in search of a major discover of universal proportions. The techncal jargon and data that haswoked so well in the past is what actually dooms this one to a watery grave. The story and character development frequently stalls as Child drones on about computer systems, alien sentinels, and a whole host of medical ailments.

The main storyline itself, is pretty flimsy at best and, due to the lack of development, the anatagonist in the piece is very easy to pick out, very early on.

Fans of Child and Preston should skip this one entirely, and hope for a new release penned by both authors in the near future.