loading, one second please...

Desecration, Left Behind Series 9

Reviewing: Tyndale House Publishing Left Behind Series, #9  |  Rating:
By dragoncoach on
Badge: Author | Level: 4 | Fiction & Creative Expertise:
Image for Desecration, Left Behind Series 9

This is the ninth book in the acclaimed Left Behind Series, written by Christian authors Tim Lahaye and Jerry Jenkins. While I loved the first 8 books in the series, this one was a bit of a disappointment for me.

Each book in the Left Behind series can be a stand alone book, but I suggest reading it in order, because it is sequentially based on the book of Revelations in the Bible. This particular book, for example, takes us to the end of the Great Tribulation, and enters into the first Bowl Judgement, against the people who have willingly taken the mark of the Beast.

I guess the reason that this book was sort of a disappointment to me was because it sort of just seemed like an extension of the eighth book in the series, The Mark. Sure, the characters in the Tribulation Force are continuing the fight of good versus evil, but that is what the center theme was in the last book, so it seemed a bit redundant at times.

The actual writing here was top notch however, as I have come to expect from these two authors. It is relatively easy reading, and all necessary background information is supplied, which is especially nice if you are reading the series, but have a lag time between books. The action is there again, and suspense is apparent, just maybe not quite as prevalent in this installment. I still would recommend reading this book as part of the series, however.