loading, one second please...

Greatest Hits Inxs

Reviewing: Inxs Greatest Hits  |  Rating:
By dotyfree on
Badge: Author | Level: 2 | Music Expertise:
Image for Greatest Hits - INXS

Greatest Hits - INXS

First of all, everybody needs some Greatest Hits in their collection. INXS is basically a pumped-up pub band, and this collection of their best-known hits shows it. If you ever heard it on the radio, you'll find it on here, from the catchy "The One Thing" to the funky "Need You Tonight" and the pounding "What You Need." The sadly departed Michael Hutchence does have a Jagger-like charisma, which often trancends the three-chords-and-a-beat tunes and sometimes treacly lyrics. I was pleased to see that "Disappear, " the best song off the otherwise forgettable "X", is here as well.

This CD is a good place to start if you just started to listen to INXS (you're either just entering high school, or lived on mars for a while if this is the case). Sure, "Not Enough Time" "Don't Change" and a slew of other GREAT songs aren't on this album, but the rest of the songs totally make up for that. the 2 "new" tracks on the album are good too. they totally sum up inxs' sound, that there's no better place but a greatest hits album to put them on. don't forget to check out Michael Hutchence's solo album that just came out! it will blow you away. too bad he died so soon. he really was the driving force behind INXS.

Other songs that an INXS fan should check out are Good times (from the lost boys soundtrack - this song is a cover version, it's an awesome track) and Stay Young - one of my fav INXS songs. Some of the solo work from Hutchence that stands out is the effort from 'dogs in space' where he does a song called "rooms for the memory" - this is a haunting song, and one of my favs, also from batman forever he did a version of 'passenger'.

This is a CD for a casual fan, (has all their US hits from Kick, X etc) but there is so much more INXS out there, so don't think the best songs are all here and do them justice. I've heard the release of the compilation 'shine like it does' will be released later this year which will most likely be a good follow up to this package.

Principally recorded at Paradise Studios and Rhinoceros Studios, Sydney, Australia; The Power Station, New York; Studio De La Grand Armee, Paris, France between 1980 and 1994.

Track Listings :

1. One Thing

2. Original Sin

3. What You Need

4. Listen Like Thieves

5. Shine Like It Does

6. Need You Tonight ...................................... my favorite

7. Devil Inside

8. New Sensation

9. Never Tear Us Apart

10. Suicide Blonde ......................................... my favorite

11. Disappear

12. Stairs

13. Heaven Sent

14. Beautiful Girl ............................................. my favorite

15. Strangest Party (These Are the Times)

16. Deliver Me