loading, one second please...

Hungry Lions

Reviewing: Mary Pope Osborn Lions At Lunchtime  |  Rating:
Sharon Lai By Sharon Lai on
Badge: Author | Level: 4 | Children & Parenting Expertise:

"Jack pointed to the cover of the book and said, ‘I wish we could go there'. The wind started to blow. The tree house started to spin. It spun faster and faster. Then everything was still. Absolutely still."

The Magic Treehouse series by Mary Pope Osborn has spiraled into an incredible series that not only teaches kids about history, but lets them see what it would be like to be in history. This series is a monolithic hit with young children, and there are over forty books in total.

In this next book in the series, Jack and Annie visit the African sahara full of wildebeests and creatures. They encounter many different species of wildlife while learning much about the way of life there. They meet a hyena, get a shower from a water-filled trunk of an elephant, help animals migrate across a river, and a have a very close brush with deadly, fast hunters- the dreaded lion.

This book is fast paced, exciting, and perfect for little kids who just love a taste of thrill (and education too!)