loading, one second please...

No Doubt: The Singles 1992 2003 Quite Outstanding

Reviewing: No Doubt The Singles 1992 2003  |  Rating:
dave By dave on
Badge: Publisher | Level: 7 | Music Expertise:

There once was a time when Gwen Stefani wasn't a one-woman pop music show. May I remind you of the greatness of No Doubt, the rock/ska band she fronted for more than a decade.

No Doubt: The Singles is an aptly named greatest hits album that delivers. One may say that sometimes greatest hits collections are only as good as the band they represent, but with No Doubt: The Singles you get everything in one tidy 15-track package. (Later copies include two bonus tracks, but I believe those song selections is a detractment.)

The album is geared for casual fans of the band, but it still has aplenty. I know I was personally delighted by what I got.

The album is not chronological, which adds to the track mix. It also shows that in combining the singles from three major albums, No Doubt created a magically strong selection of songs throughout its heyday.

From their early definitive years with "Trapped In A Box", "Just A Girl, " and their rock ballad "Don't Speak" accelerating through to their hits from their 2000 and 2001 albums Return to Saturn and Rock Steady, the collection also includes their hit at the moment, 2003's "It's My Life, " released specifically for this album.

The band broke up shortly afterward and Stefani went toward more pop-like material.

Nonetheless, what more can I say -- pick up this album if you even remotely like No Doubt. It plays well while driving or screwing around on the computer. It might be overkill to play at a party, but it certainly is a damn fine compilation to listen to.

An added bonus: The CD includes a full lyrics text and a nice 1, 000 word writeup on the history of the band.


1. Just A Girl - 1995

2. It's My Life - original for album

3. Hey Baby (featuring Bounty Killer) - 2001

4. Bathwater - 2000

5. Sunday Morning - 1995

6. Hella Good - 2001

7. New - 2000

8. Underneath It All (featuring Lady Saw)

9. Excuse Me Mr. - 1995

10. Running - 2001

11. Spiderwebs - 1995

12. Simple Kind Of Life - 2000

13. Don't Speak - 1995

14. Ex-Girlfriend - 2000

15. Trapped In A Box - 1992


- Album reached #2 on the Billboard Top 200 albums, mighty good for a greatest hits album.