loading, one second please...

Panic! At The Disco

Reviewing: Panic! At The Disco A Fever You Can't Sweat Out  |  Rating:
By hcutting on
Badge: Author | Level: 2 | Music Expertise:

Panic! At the disco are my favourite band, they are a rock band formed in Las Vegas. I think that ‘A Fever You Can't Sweat Out" is their greatest album so far due to the originality and brilliant musicianship of every song. "A Fever you can't sweat out" reached number 13 on the US Billboard charts. There are 13 tracks on the album.The album begins with a 36 second introduction, which is made to sound like a radio tuning into different stations, on each different station the radio tunes to it gives a snippet of what to expect on the album.

The first half of the album uses many techno beats and synthetic sounds. The first song "London beckoned songs about money written by machines" is about record companies producing clones. This shows that Panic! At the disco are always trying to be original and, this album does not disappoint.

Half way through the album is an ‘Intermission'. The intermission begins with a techno dance beat, which is then interrupted from an extract from the orginal radio broadcast of War of the Worlds which states, "Ladies and gentlemen, due to circumstances beyond our control we are unable to continue this broadcast, so we shall now continue with our piano interlude" which then leads to a beautiful piece of piano music. This is a smooth transition to the second half of the album where many of the songs are more piano and instrument based than synthesised.

Every song on the album tells a different story and I love listening to the lyrics and working out the stories. Each track runs into the next which I also think is really effective.

The track list is as follows:

1. Introduction

2. Only Difference Between Martyrdom And Suicide Is Press Coverage

3. London Beckoned Songs About Money Written By Machines

4. Nails For Breakfast Tacks For Snacks

5. Camisado

6. Time To Dance

7. Lying Is The Most Fun A Girl Can Have Without Taking Her Clothes Off

8. Intermission

9. But It's Better If You Do

10. I Write Sins Not Tragedies

11. I Constantly Thank God For Esteban

12. There's A Good Reason These Tables Are Numbered Honey You Just Haven't Thought Of It Yet

13. Build God Then We'll Talk

I would certainly recommend this album to anyone, particularly if you are into rock/emo music. If you like this you may also like Fall out boy, who are on the same record label.

The CD is available on the HMV website (www.hmv.com) £9.99 with free delivery (price correct on 5.12.09). The CD is not suitable for children as it does contain explicit language.

I hope you enjoy listening to Panic! At the disco, you should also listen to their "Pretty.Odd" album, it is completely different from "A Fever You Can't Sweat Out" and personally I am not so keen, however everybody's tastes are different.

Thank you for reading

Hannah :)