loading, one second please...

The Mark, Left Behind Series 8

Reviewing: Tyndale House Publishing Left Behind Series, # 8  |  Rating:
By dragoncoach on
Badge: Author | Level: 4 | Fiction & Creative Expertise:
Image for The Mark, Left Behind Series 8

The Mark is the eighth book in a series of Christian based books written by authors Tim Lahaye and Jerry Jenkins. Each of the books are a progressive account based on the book of Revelations in the Bible. While I personally feel that it is best to read this series in order to get the most benefit from the building information on each of the central characters, each book can be read (and enjoyed) on its own.

Each of the books in this series have their own distinct "feel" to them, and this is no different. I think that this book felt "creepy" for a lack of a better word- almost eery, as if something similar to the events that you are reading about could possibly be happening somewhere else on earth.

In this book, an old familiar character, Nicolae Carpathia, makes his dramatic return as Satan, and takes the power reins of the remaining inhabitants of earth. There are new rules set up, and everyone is required to take the "mark of the beast, " and this is done so in a way that we truly do have the technology to do today....again with the creepiness, knowing that it could happen! There are ghastly consequences to those that do not obey, but there are still members of the Tribulation Force that are still spreading the word of God. This book truly has the sense of good versus evil- and everyone has to choose a side.

The Mark offers powerful reading, and it is a good book for sparking conversations about some of the events in today's society. Be warned though- once you start reading, you won't be able to put it down!