loading, one second please...

Who We Are Instead

Reviewing: Jars Of Clay Who We Are Intead  |  Rating:
veleona By veleona on
Badge: Author | Level: 3 | Music Expertise:
Image for Who We Are Instead

I've been following this band many years now and I'm glad to have a copy most of their albums. I like this band's unique way of doing their music in a nice touch of alternative rock, acoustic, and country tunes. The sound seems to be good enough on the ears. Most of the songs have really good lyrics that talk about their life experiences, struggles, faith, and love. In some way I can get connected with the truth they are sharing.

The Album

Who We Are Instead is their sixth album compiling thirteen songs mostly written by Jar of Clay themselves, Dan Haseltine, Charlie Lowell, Stephen Mason and Matt Odmark. Released in 2003 and co produced by multi-platinum record producer Ron Aniello in which he was also the producer for other music artists like Lifehouse, Sixpence None the Richer and Jeremy Camp

I like the old rusty gray album cover and lyrics leaves. The musical ambiance of the album is a bit more relaxed compared to their previous albums. The acoustic and country sound is noted each song. "Lonely People", "Amazing Grace" and "Sunny Days" are among my favorite songs in this album. They are also very vocal on their spirituality and faith on their lyrics

Track list are:

1. Sunny Days

2. Amazing Grace (featuring Ashley Cleveland)

3. Lonely People (America cover)

4. Only Alive

5. Trouble Is

6. Faith Enough

7. Show You Love

8. Lesser Things

9. I'm In The Way

10. Jesus Blood Never Failed Me Yet (Gavin Bryars cover)

11. Jealous Kind (featuring Ashley Cleveland)

12. Sing

13. My Heavenly